In memory of Johnny Peret

In memory of Johnny Peret
In memory of my friend Johnny Peret, vibist, drummer, accordeonist extraordinaire

Thursday, October 3, 2013


Recorded April 7, 1967 at Städtisches Bühnenhaus, Wesel, Germany - radio transcription

I can’t wait to post this new contribution from Onxidlib.  Got it this morning and here it is, on the blog!

The accurately named Kurt Edelhagen All Stars Band

Kurt Edelhagen orchestra at his peak with a fantastic line up: Shake Keane, Wilton Gaynair, Leo Wright, Derek Humble just to name a few ...... I wish I could travel back in time and see these guys live!


Track 1 - 13 + 15 - 19
Kurt Edelhagen, conductor
Ellsworth "Shake" Keane, trumpet, fluegelhorn 

Horst Fischer, trumpet
Hanne Wilfert, trumpet
Rick Kiefer, trumpet
Otto Bredl, trombone
Oliver "Jiggs" Whigham, trombone
Manfred Gätjens, trombone
Helmut "Nick" Hauck, bass trombone
Heinz Kretzschmar, soprano & alto saxophone
Derek Humble, , alto saxophone
Leo Wright, alto saxophone, flute
Wilton Gaynair, tenor saxophone
Kurt "Bubi" Aderhold , baritone saxophone, flute
Bora Rokovic , piano
Peter Trunk, bass
Dai Bowen, drums

Peter Trunk -

Beb Guerin

Only track 14:
Rolf Kühn, clarinet
Joachim Kühn, piano
Beb Guérin, bass
Aldo Romano, drums

Dietrich Schulz-Köhn, announcer

01. Introduction (Edelhagen)                             00:37
02. Theme (K. Edelhagen)                             00:51
03. Introduction (Edelhagen + Dietrich Schulz-Köhn)     02:48
04. Avalon (B.G. DeSylva-A. Jolson-V. Rose)             02:46
05. Tippin' In (K. Edelhagen)                             04:38
06. Introduction (Dietrich Schulz-Köhn)             02:29
07. Raga Gaud Saranga (J. Mayer)                     05:15
08. I Want to Be Happy (V. Youmans-I. Caesar)             04:52
09. Introduction (Dietrich Schulz-Köhn)             01:57
10. Gensel's Message (L. Wright)                     07:20
11. Midnight in Berlin (L. Wright)                     03:12
12. The Wiggler (K. Edelhagen)                             07:01
13. Introduction (Dietrich Schulz-Köhn)             04:08
14. Highlights (K. Edelhagen)                             06:30
15. Introduction (Dietrich Schulz-Köhn)             02:32
16. Emancipation Blues (O. Nelson)                     07:24
17. Introduction (Dietrich Schulz-Köhn)             00:25
18. This Could Be the Start of Something Big (S. Allen) 05:57
19. Theme (K. Edelhagen)                             01:05

Recorded April 7, 1967 at Städtisches Bühnenhaus, Wesel, Germany.


  1. With eternal gratefulness to onxidlib

  2. Thank you, what a fine line up really looking forward to hearing this.

  3. Big thanks for this! Great band.

  4. Wonderful post. Many thanks, boogieman and onxidlib.

  5. thanks onxidlib... one more from your treasure box! thanks boogieman!

  6. Great post. You seem to have an incredible knack for posting what other bloggers don't or can't post. Thand a lot.