In memory of Johnny Peret

In memory of Johnny Peret
In memory of my friend Johnny Peret, vibist, drummer, accordeonist extraordinaire

Saturday, January 11, 2014


Václav Zahradník A Hosté Jazzového Festivalu Praha 1970 - Interjazz
Supraphon ‎– 1 15 0999   (Czechoslovakia - 1971)

Fellow blogger Quimsy posted a link to this album in the comments of Interjazz-6.  I think the quality of the music is such that it deserves a full post (and Quimsy deserves a big thank!).  

Not seen often in the blogsphere, if ever!
Fantastic music!
Some of the most innovative European Jazz in the Seventies come from Eastern Europe ... and it took me half a century to discover it.

Thanks to all the fellow bloggers who introduced me to "Iron Curtain Jazz" (with a special mention to Quimsy and the Growing Bin team).


A1                   Foukej!            Written-By – Rudolf Dašek             7:15
A2                   Jaumeau         Written-By – Václav Zahradník      12:45
B1                   Intima               Written-By – Miljenko Prohaska    5:05
B2                   Rituál               Written-By – Andrej Tovmosjan    5:20
B3                   Podzimní Slunce        Written-By – Milčo Leviev  9:35


Arranged By, Conductor – Václav Zahradník
Trumpet – Jiří Izera, Miloslav Bureš, Václav Týfa
Trombone – Andrzej Brzeski, Hubert Katzenbeier, Zdeněk Pulec
Alto Saxophone – Ozren Depolo
Soprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone – Mihály Ráduly
Tenor Saxophone – Dan Mindrilla*, Rajmond Raubiško*, Václav Maňas
Flute, Piccolo Flute – Simeon Štěrev*
Tuba – Petr Fleischer
Piano, Piano [Preparé] – Laco Gerhardt*
Guitar, Sitar – Rudolf Dašek
Contrabass – Klaus Koch
Timpani [Kotle] – Petr Šprunk

Drums [Bicí] – Andrzej Dabrowski*


  1. With my eternal gratitude to Quimsy:

  2. Yes, great music indeed. FYI, in France [maybe not elsewhere] all tracks except Jaumeau are currently streamable on Spotify.

  3. Just found one cut from it upon on Youtube, and you are so correct: this is innovative, hot, and beautifully arranged big band jazz. Thanks for providing it! Downloading now. I had no idea this kind of thing was actually being performed, much less recorded, in Communist Czechoslovakia. Which isn't to cast stereotypes; it's just that the powers that be frowned on jazz.

  4. this also here (unfortunately mp3)

    Václav Zahradník Big Band / Jazz Goes To Beat
    Жанр: Jazz, Big Band
    Страна: Czechoslovakia
    Год издания: 1969
    Аудиокодек: MP3
    Тип рипа: tracks
    Битрейт аудио: 320 kbps
    Продолжительность: 41:59
    01 [01:42] Jazz Goes To Beat I
    02 [03:14] Yesterday
    03 [07:17] Touha
    04 [03:15] Love In Davos, No. 329
    05 [04:58] California Dreamin'
    06 [03:42] Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
    07 [04:44] Bonanza
    08 [03:35] Proutěná země
    09 [03:30] Mother Crow
    10 [05:59] Jazz Goes To Beat II

  5. Merci mon bon monsieur pour cette découverte...